Adopting a Wild Horse

"Jack," number 8459 featured for adoption by BLM on the internet

“Jack,” number 8459 featured for adoption by BLM on the internet

This week we have focused on the wild horses and burros featured on the BLM Internet adoption pages. We have brought you some of their stories of capture and life in holding facilities. We have brought you stories of commitment to helping the wild horseshttp://wildhorseeducation.org/2014/03/09/internet-adoption/

As the adoption event draws to a close. Some of the horses have bidders and many more will receive another strike in the “three strikes system” toward becoming sale authority. (READ about sale authority HERE)

Mojave and Marta

Mojave and Marta

We end the week with a personal message from Marta Williams, VP of Wild Horse Education.

Adopt a Mustang, You Wont Regret It

You will not regret inviting a wild horse or burro into your life. I have friends who do just about everything with mustangs, including high level dressage.

I adopted a mustang a few years ago. His name is Mojave. He came from the Apaches in Arizona. I ride Mojave on the trails and I can truly say I have never met a sweeter horse nor one with whom I feel safer.  Mojave is super smart, and he just doesn’t spook. He might startle, for example at a deer or a dog,  but then he just stands there assessing the situation, sees it’s ok and moves on. Far preferable to the 180 degree turns my Arabs used to do in similar situations.

It is fascinating to see the wildness in him compared to horses raised by people. When I ride him I can see him constantly assessing his environment and never letting his mind wander. I am sure he was a scout for the his herd in the wild. I am told he was captured then released again as a stallion, so he had a long time out in nature. I adopted him with his girlfriend because they were totally in love and I would have felt awful separating them. Now they are together for life. Mojave wouldn’t mind having a few more girls.. LOL. I have never seen a mare who doesn’t just melt when she meets him. Mojave is the gentle type of herd leader who only needs to flick an ear or put his chin down to get everyone to tow the line.

060

The only thing I have to watch out for is that Mojave, unlike any horse I have ever ridden, LOVES the water. If you get near water his first thought is, ‘OK! Let’s roll in it.’ So either you are prepared to control that or you and your saddle go for a swim. He and I have reached a compromise: once we are finished riding we go to a shallow creek where he can roll in the water. He makes sure he gets wet all over, both sides at least twice.

Mojave is very reserved. I have friends who have in-your-pocket type mustangs and burros that they adopted. Mojave is more like a very wise old man. He will put his head up to mine, tolerate it when I give him a kiss, and show me he loves me by nuzzling and blowing on my hand.

Adopt one of these noble and complex beings. You will not regret it.

~~~~

Owyhee Complex wild horses on the BLM adoption site: http://wildhorseeducation.org/owyhee-complex-wild-horses/

Diamond Complex wild horses on the adoption site: http://wildhorseeducation.org/wild-horses-from-the-diamond-complex/

Nevada’s Youth’s Equine Alliance pledge to help horses in holding: http://wildhorseeducation.org/2014/03/13/nevada-youths-equine-alliance-pledge-to-help-captive-wild-horses/

A visit with some of the wild horses at Palomino Valley Center: http://wildhorseeducation.org/2014/03/07/blm-internet-adoption/

BLM Internet Adoption Page: https://www.blm.gov/adoptahorse/onlinegallery.php

0109

 

One thought on “Adopting a Wild Horse

  1. Marta what a wonderful tribute to your wild, beautiful boy. I so want a horse of my own. Once I get settled in Bozeman, I am going to start looking around for a place to board. I want him / her to have pasture options; no living in the barn for any wild one. Mojave sounds like the perfect companion! You are both lucky to have been guided to one another!

Leave a Reply

